Happy Birthday Joey Ramone

Last year, I wrote a piece for Punk Globe honoring the great Joey Ramone who died of Leukemia twelve years ago. It’s an honor to share the pages of Criminal Class Review Volume 6 with his brother, Mickey Leigh. Mickey wrote a fantastic book called “I Slept with Joey Ramone,” which humanizes Joey in a lot of ways. The piece I wrote for Punk Globe is about my relationship to my favorite Ramone, and in a weird way, a friend I never got to meet. George Tabb gave me one of the biggest complements I’ve ever gotten when he said that Joey Ramone, Joe Strummer, and Allen Ginsberg would have loved to hang out with me and read my work. I hope they all would and if you’re a fan of the Ramones like I am, I hope you like this piece.

http://punkglobe.com/joeyramonememorial0512.php

 

P.S. If you’re in NYC, head out to Bowery Electric. I hear their Joey Ramone Birthday Bash is gonna be awesome.

Leave a Reply

